Stevenson Announces Dick Watts Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2016

Stevenson Announces Dick Watts Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2016

OWINGS MILLS, Md. – The Stevenson University athletics department and Director of Athletics Brett Adams announced today that eight individuals and one team will comprise the 2016 induction class into the Dick Watts Stevenson University Athletics Hall of Fame. 

Dr. Kevin Manning, the president of Stevenson University since 2000, will be the first to be inducted in the Emeritus category.  Field hockey and women's lacrosse player Tracey (Whetstone) Cantabene '95, men's lacrosse player Peter Nee '96, field hockey player Holly Chattin-Smith '00, women's soccer player Adrienne (Justis) Tamanini '03, men's basketball players Wade Henninger '05 and Anthony Fitzgerald '06 and longtime athletic department administrative assistant Fran Fidler will be inducted on Saturday, October 22 at the Hall of Fame banquet during Homecoming and Family Weekend.

In addition, the Hall of Fame will also recognize the 2005-06 men's basketball team as a Team of Tradition.

Including this year's class, the Dick Watts Stevenson Athletics Hall of Fame, founded in 2014 as the University celebrated the 20th anniversary of the start of NCAA Division III athletics in 1994, consists of 24 individuals and four Teams of Tradition.  Nominees for this year's class include those who graduated from Stevenson (formerly Villa Julie College) in 2006 or earlier.

Manning, the president of Stevenson University since 2000, recently announce his retirement following the 2016-17 academic year.  During his tenure, the University has seen unprecedented growth, transforming from Villa Julie College, while seeing enrollment grow from 1,500 to nearly 4,200.  Dr. Manning's support of Mustang athletics has helped Stevenson become a national leader in NCAA Division III. 

During his tenure, athletic offerings expanded to 27 varsity sports, including the addition of football, which began play in 2011.  Several state-of-the-art athletic facilities have been constructed, with Owings Mills Gymnasium opening in 2010 and 3,500-seat Mustang Stadium opening in 2011.  Mustang teams have made numerous NCAA appearances over the past 16 years, culminating in a national championship for the men's lacrosse team in 2013.

Cantabene was a member of Villa Julie's first field hockey team in 1994 and first women's lacrosse team in 1995 and was the department's inaugural Female Athlete of the Year.  As a member of the field hockey team she was awarded the Elizabeth Cooper Memorial Award by the Southeast Field Hockey Association.  Cantabene also participated in cross country and indoor track for the Mustangs.  After graduation, she served as an assistant coach with both the field hockey and women's lacrosse programs and was head coach of the field hockey program in 1996.

Nee was a two-year member of the men's lacrosse program in 1995 and 1996.  He was named the team's Most Valuable Player as a senior after totaling 56 goals and 27 assists for 83 points.  Over his two seasons, Nee totaled 85 goals and 38 assists for 123 points, ranking just outside the top 10 in career goals and points despite playing just two seasons.

Chattin-Smith was a member of the field hockey team from 1997-2000 and in four seasons totaled 34 goals and 14 assists for 82 points, including 14 goals and three assists for 31 points as a senior in 2000.  She is tied for third in career scoring, eighth in career assists and third in career points.

Tamanini was a member of the women's soccer program from 1999-2002 and also played women's lacrosse for two seasons.  On the soccer pitch she recorded 91 points in four seasons on the strength of 39 goals and 13 assists, ranking fifth in career points and career goals and ninth in career assists.  As a senior in 2002 she recorded three hat tricks.  In lacrosse, Tamanini played in the 2000 and 2003 seasons and totaled 23 goals and 15 assists for her career, while also picking up 70 ground balls in 2000.

Henninger was a four-year standout for the men's basketball program from 2001-05 and scored 1,424 points in 95 career games, ranking fourth in career scoring.  He also ranks seventh in career field goal percentage (.486), third in career three-point field goals (154), first in career three-point percentage (.439), third in career rebounds (604), fourth in career assists (244) and first in blocked shots (127).  As a junior he tossed in a program-record 44 points against Salisbury, a mark that stood until 2015.

Fitzgerald played men's basketball from 2003-06 and led the Mustangs to the first men's basketball NCAA berth in program history as a senior.  He is the program's all-time leader in scoring (2,103), field goal percentage (.561) and rebounds (1,496), ranking third in Division III history in total rebounds and 10th in rebounds per game (14.0).  As a senior he averaged 17.1 points and 14.4 rebounds per game as Villa Julie finished 20-9.  Fitzgerald led the country in rebounding as a junior and senior while ranking second nationally as a sophomore and third as a freshman.

Fidler has spent nearly 20 years at Villa Julie/Stevenson as the administrative assistant for the athletic department, starting at Villa Julie in October, 1996 on the Greenspring campus before moving over to Owings Mills as the athletic department shifted.  During that time, she has worked with and gotten to know hundreds of Mustang student-athletes and worked with virtually every staff member who has worked in the Stevenson athletic department as one of its longest-serving employees.

The 2005-06 men's basketball team won a then-school record 20 games, finishing 20-9 overall, and advanced to the second round of the NCAA Tournament in Villa Julie's first appearance.  The Mustangs began the season by winning the Pride of Maryland Tournament, defeating Johns Hopkins 81-78 in overtime in the final after outlasting Washington College 100-93 in the semifinals.  Villa Julie fell to Keystone in the North East Athletic Conference final, but earned an at-large berth to the NCAA field, besting Baruch 86-71 in the first round on Baruch's home floor before falling to William Paterson in the second round.  Fitzgerald was the NEAC Player of the Year.

For more information, please visit

The 2005-06 men's basketball team becomes the fourth Team of Tradition to be inducted into the Dick Watts Athletics Hall of Fame