Women's Soccer Begins 2018 Slate August 31

Women's Soccer Begins 2018 Slate August 31

2018 WOMEN'S SOCCER SCHEDULE

OWINGS MILLS, Md. – The Stevenson University women's soccer team opens its 2018 season on Friday, August 31 and Saturday, September 1, traveling to New York's Finger Lakes region to compete at the William Smith Invitational.  The tourney is the start of an 18-game schedule for the Mustangs.

Stevenson begins the tournament by facing the University of Rochester on Friday, then takes on the host Herons on Saturday.  William Smith, the alma mater of second-year head coach Tati Korba, finished 19-2 last season and reached the third round of the NCAA Tournament.  After the opening weekend, the Mustangs travel to Gettysburg on September 5 before Saturday, September 8's home opener against St. Mary's (Md.) at 4 pm at Mustang Stadium.

The contest against the Seahawks begins a five-game homestand for Stevenson which also includes Catholic (Sept. 12), Elizabethtown (Sept. 15), Shenandoah (Sept. 19) and DeSales (Sept. 22).  After a road contest at Moravian, the Mustangs open MAC Commonwealth play Saturday, September 29 against Arcadia at 7:30 pm.

October consists of virtually all conference play, beginning with a Tuesday, October 2 date against Messiah at home.  The Mustangs also face Hood (Oct. 10) and Alvernia (Oct. 19) in home conference play and wrap up the home portion of the regular season Wednesday, October 24 with a non-league game against Mount Aloysius.  The regular season finale is at Widener on Saturday, October 27.

The five-team MAC Commonwealth Championship opens with the fourth and fifth seeds battling on Monday, October 29.  The conference semifinals are slated for Wednesday, October 31, with the championship match set for Saturday, November 3.