Vote For Men's Lacrosse in 2009 LaxWorld Laxie Awards

Vote For Men's Lacrosse in 2009 LaxWorld Laxie Awards

Vote Here!

OWINGS MILLS, Md. - Stevenson has been nominated for three Laxie Awards presented by LaxWorld and Inside Lacrosse. Fans can vote now for the winner in each category with the winners presented in the December issue of Inside Lacrosse Magazine.

The three categories in which Stevenson has been nominated are Division III Men's Player of the Year, Upset of the Year and Coach of the Year.

Junior Steve Kazimer (Syracuse, N.Y./Henninger) is up for player of the year honors along with Salisbury's Kylor Berkman, Cortland's Joey Morgan, Middlebury's Mike Stone and Gettysburg's Tom Kehoe.

The Division III recipient of the USILA's Lt. Col. J.I. Turnbull Award as the nation's Outstanding Attackman in 2009, Kazimer led the team in scoring with 69 points, the fifth-most in school history. The USILA Division III All-America and All-CAC First Team selection also ranked second on the team with 33 goals and 36 assists which were also the fifth-most in school history.

Stevenson's 12-8 road win over then No. 4-ranked Salisbury on April 4 was nominated for Upset of the Year. The win snapped Salisbury's 105-game CAC unbeaten streak and was only their second in the last 57 games.

The Mustangs were also just the second team in the last 90 regular-season games and 81 at home to beat the Sea Gulls. Stevenson won two of its three meetings against Salisbury last season after eliminating their conference rivals in the NCAA quarterfinals.

Head coach Paul Cantabene was nominated for Coach of the Year after leading the Mustangs to a school record 17 wins, the semifinals of the NCAA Division III Men's Lacrosse Championship and the nation's final No. 1 ranking.

In five seasons with the Mustangs, Cantabene has totaled a record of 60-25 while leading the team to four consecutive 10-win seasons and back-to-back CAC championship games.

Voting is simple and easy. Browse the categories and click on your favorite nominee. If you want to sound off on our selections, you can go to or

Three lucky fans will win FOUR CLUB TICKETS EACH to the Konica Minolta Face-Off Classic, the Konica Minolta Big City Classic and the Smartlink Day of Rivals.

Vote early and often for Stevenson.